The defunct Austral-Asia Cup

Countries from the Middle East have always wanted to host some of the most important sports competitions in the world. When visiting the 1xBet company – place bets now on these highly exciting instances.


There was an interesting competition played between 1986 and 1994. It was called the Austral-Asia Cup. As its name implies, the championship intended to have the best cricket national teams from that part of the world. Punters decide at any moment to go and start to place bets now on the 1xBet company on all those squads, and they were:

  • Pakistan;
  • India;
  • New Zealand;
  • Australia;
  • and Sri Lanka.

The mastermind behind the championship was Abdur Rahman Bukhathir. He was a businessman from the United Arab Emirates who loved the sport. For this reason, the championship was played in the city of Sharjah.

The first edition

In total, three editions of the Austral-Asia Cup were played. The website can be visited in order to start wagering on all the squads who participated in it. The tournaments were played in 1986, 1990 and 1994.

The first edition was played by the five aforementioned nations. It started with a first round that had all teams except for Sri Lanka. Out of this group of four teams, Australia was eliminated, meaning the remaining three joined the Sri Lankan team in a semi-final bracket. The Sri Lankan national side is another interesting squad to wager at the 1xBet website.

The championship was won by Pakistan, who defeated India in the final by a single wicket. This match was played on the 18th of April 1986.

The 1990 and 1994 championships

Pakistan actually managed to win the three editions of the Austral-Asia Cup, which is a remarkable feat. The site has excellent kabaddi but also cricket events to wager, where the Pakistani team is also featured.

The 1990 editions of the Austral-Asia Cup saw the addition of Bangladesh. Also, this tournament has a slightly different format. It started with a group stage with two groups of three teams each.

In the 1990 Austral-Asia Cup, the Pakistani side managed to defeat Australia on the 4th of May of that year. They did so by 36 runs. The Australian national cricket team is another great squad to wager on the 1xBet betting platform.

The 1994 championship kept the same format of the 1990 one. Here Bangladesh was replaced by the United Arab Emirates team. The Pakistani squad defeated India on the 22nd of April of that year in the final match. They were able to claim the trophy after beating the Indian team by 39 runs.

India OnGo

Hello Visitors. I hope you are getting desired information on this website. I am the founder, content creator, editor, administrator of this website. i created this website in 2015 to aim to provide accurate information to the visitors. I am in this field for more than 10+ years and trying to provide information with accuracy and references. If you find any wrong information in the content, please write and email to me from contact page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.