Anantnag Bye Election Results 2016

Anantnag Election Results vote counting is in progress and we are hoping that final results will be declared till afternoon.

Live Updates:

  • CM Mehbooba Mufti won the Bye elections by 12,085 votes.
  • Mehbooba Mufti leading by 6000+ votes.
  • Mehbooba Mufti of PDP is leading by more than 5000 votes.
Anantnag Bye poll Counting
Anantnag Bye poll Counting- Round 4
  • CM Mehbooba Mufti is leading after the counting of first phase.
  • As per sources first round of counting of ballot votes has completed for by-election of the Anantnag constituency (J&K).  PDP 3, Congress 1, NOTA 1.
AC NameWinner CandidateVoteRunner-Up CandidateVoteMargin
 Anantnag Mehbooba Mufti (PDP) 17,701 Hilal Shah (INC) 5,616 12,085

Election Commission of India has decided to hold bye election in the Anantnag assembly constituency of Jammu Kashmir State. The by elections will be held on 22 June 2016 and result will be declared on 25th June 2016. Anantnag (Constituency No. 40) was the seat of former Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir Mufti Mohd Sayeed. The seat was vacant after the demise of Mufti Mohd. Sayeed on January 7, 2016.

Voting Update:  As per election commission officials, only 34% voters cast their vote in by polls. Out of 84067 electors, only 28446 voters use their voting power. 15384 male, 13062 female and 638 migrant voters cast their votes in Anantnag (J&K) Bye polls.

Anantnag Assembly Constituency Bye Poll Schedule

S. No.EventDate
1Issue of Notification25.05.2016
2Last Date of Making Nomination01.06.2016
3Date of Scrutiny of Nominations02.06.2016
4Last Date of Withdrawal of Candidatures04.06.2016
5Date of Poll22.06.2016
6Date of Counting of Votes25.06.2016
7Date of Before elections shall be completed27.06.2016

Anantnag By Election Candidates List

S. No.Name of The CandidateFather’s NameParty
1Iftikhar Hussain MisgerGhulam Mohammad MisgerJ&K National Conference
2Mehbooba MuftiMufti Mohammad SyeedJ&K Peoples Democratic Party
3Hilal Ahmad ShahJalal-uldin ShahIndian National Congress
4Tejinder SinghPrem SinghIndependent
5Mujieb-ur-RehmanAbdul Rehman ShahIndependent
6Masroor Ahmad MirGh. Nabi MirIndependent
7Mushtaq Ahmad ShahMohammad Afzal ShahIndependent
8Manzoor Ahmad KhanMohammad Yousuf KhanIndependent


  • Anantnag by polls has postponed for two days after the request of contesting parties. Now the voting for the polls will be held on 22 June 2016. Earlier voting was scheduled to be on 19th June. Counting of votes will take place on 25 June 2016.
  • Awami Itihad Party (AIP) chief Er Rashid has taken the candidature form from district authorities and he is likely to contest in Anantnag bye polls which are scheduled to be held on 19th June. The Party has taken two form from election authorities, another form is in the name of Advocate Mujeeb-Ul-Rehman. Mujeeb-Ul-Rehman is the party president of Anantnag district.
  • On Wednesday 1 June, Mehbooba Mufti has filed her nomination papers for upcoming by polls in Anantnag assembly seat of South Kashmir. Please note that Mehbooba Mufti has never lost a single election in her political career of 26 years. Today is the last date of filing nominations.
  • National Conference is announced that Iftikhar Misgar will be their candidate for upcoming assembly polls of Anantnag. He obtained the candidature form from district authorities. In last elections (2014) he begged third spot. Now in this by elections, he will be competing against the PDF chief Mehbooba Mufti and Indian National Congress candidate Hilal Shah.
  • As per the sources, current Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir (Mehbooba Mufti) is going to contesting in by poll election from Anantnag assembly.  She is the daughter of Mufti Mohammad Sayeed. She has obtained nomination form from district authorities for regarding the by elections. Currently Mehbooba Mufti is the current Lok Sabha (MP) member from South Kashmir seat of J & K. As per the constitutional requirement of Jammu and Kashmir she has to become the member of J and K Legislative assembly within six months after acquiring the post of Chief Minister. She is the daughter of Mufti Mohammad Sayeed and Anantnag assembly seat is vacant due to the demise of her father. (source:
  • Congress leader Hilal Ahmad Shah has filed his nomination paper on 28th May for Anantnag assembly by polls which are to be scheduled for 19th June. He is the first candidate to file the nomination papers for upcoming by polls.

The election commission of India has decided to use the EVM machines in all the polling stations of Anantnag constituency of J and K.

Anantnag Assembly Constituency Past Results

YearA C No.WinnerPartyVotesRunner UpPartyVotes
201440Mufti Mohd SayeedPDP16983Hilal Ahmad ShahINC10955
200840Mufti Mohammad SayeedJKPDP12439Mirza Mehboob BeighJKN7548
200240Dr. Mehboob BeighJKN3513Liyakat Ali KhanJKAL652
199640Safdar Ali BegJKN6066Bashir Ahmad DadaJKAL5448
198739Mohd. Syeed ShahIND24800Mirza Masood BegINC8095
198339Mirza Mehboob BegJKN15575Gh. Hassan NaikINC9963
197739Mirza Mohd Afzal BegJKN15893Sheikh Abdul MajidJNP9283
197239ShamsuddinINC7401Piary Lal HandooIND5383
196231Shamas – Ud- DinNCUncontested

We will also publish the candidate list of Anantnag By election, as soon the political parties has decided the candidate for by polls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *