Maharashtra is a western state of India and third largest state of India. Maharashtra has 48 parliamentary constituencies and 288 assembly constituencies. Last assembly elections in Maharashtra were held in 2014 in which Bharatiya Janata Party was the majority party, however, it could win the necessary seats to form the government. Therefore, they had to take the support of Shiv Sena to form a government.

Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2014

Last legislative assembly elections were held in 2014 on all 288 seats of Vidhan Sabha. The polling date was 15 October 2014 and elections were held in a single phase. Results of 2014 elections were declared on 19 October 2014. The Bharatiya Janata Party won 122 seats. Shivsena won 63 seats. Indian National Congress managed to win only 42. The Nationalist Congress Party won 41 seats. Out of 288 seats, 145 seats are required to win and form the government in Maharashtra.

The BJP was the largest party at that time and needed support of any party to form the government. Therefore, they made and alliance with Shivsena to form the government in Maharashtra. After their alliance, total seat count reached to 122+63= 185 seats. Congress and NCP alliance was ruling in the Maharashtra before these elections. Devendra Fadnavis was chosen as the chief minister of Maharashtra after 2014 assembly elections.

Also Check

Maharashtra Assembly Constituency Wise Results
BMC Election Results 2017
Malegaon Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017
Panvel Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017
Bhiwandi Nizampur City Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017

About Maharashtra Assembly

Maharashtra is a big state in area and population. 288 assembly seats are present in the Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha, 145 seats are needed to win the elections in the state. Mumbai is the capital of the state and also known as the commercial capital of India. The duration of current tenure is 10 November 2014 to 9 November 2019. Current term of Maharashtra assembly will expire on 9 November 2019 and fresh elections will be needed in 2019 to form a new government.

Main Political Parties of Maharashtra

Main political parties of Maharashtra are Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP),Communist Party of India (CPI), Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), etc.

Related Election Updates
Maharashtra Assembly Constituencies
Gujarat Elections 2017
Himachal Elections 2017

Last Updated on 08 August 2017