Elections were scheduled in the month of February and March, 2017 . Bharatiya Janata Party was elected to form government by people of Uttarakhand. The party won with majority, securing 57 seats out of total 70. The previous ruling party was INC, which won only 11 seats, not showcasing enough competition. Uttarakhand election results was declared on 11 March, 2017. Elections in four other states were also scheduled during these two months. Election results of all the five states was declared on same day (11-03-2017).

Party Wise Results

PartyWonVote %
Bharatiya Janata Party5746.5%
Indian National Congress1133.5%

Check All Vidhan Sabha Wise Results

Uttarakhand Election Updates

Voting in Uttarakhand was completed on 15 February, 2017. This hilly state recorded overall voter turnout of 68%. . The voting percentage was expected to be better than this. Highest voting percentage was recorded as 73%, in Uttarkashi. Almora saw least voter turnout, only 52%.

Political Facts about Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand Political Facts 
Parlimentary Constituencies5
Assembly Constituencies70
Nominate Member (Anglo-Indian community)1
Ruling PartyBhartiya Janta Party (BJP)
Opposition PartyIndian National Congress (INC)
Current Chief MinisterTrivendra Singh Rawat Doiwala
Leader of the HouseTrivendra Singh Rawat Doiwala
Current Term of Uttarakhand AssemblyMar 18 2017 to Mar 17 2022
GovernorKrishan Kant Paul
Chief Electoral OfficerRadha Raturi

Uttarakhand has 70 assembly constituencies (Vidhan Sabha) and 5 Parliamentary Constituencies (Lok Sabha). The legislative structure is unicameral. Incumbent Chief Minister is Harish Rawat of Congress. In this state, 36 seats are required to form the government with majority. In 2012 elections, Congress formed the alliance with BSP, UKD(P) and independents and came in power. Bhartiya Janata Party is the opposition party officially.

Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2017

Uttarakhand elections were held in single phase. The state has 70 assembly constituencies, voting was done on 15 February on all the assembly seats. Uttarakhand was declared as separate state in 2000, after which elections for this state were held. Since its existence as state, Uttarakhand has seen 4 assembly elections.

The people of Uttarakhand has chosen Congress and BJP alternatively in the recent years. Congress tried their best to stay in power here. BJP was waiting to form their government after 5 years long wait. Both the parties have already ruled the state in the past and they have an idea of people's choice. Bhartiya Janata Party and Congress are the main parties in the state. Apart from Bhartiya Janata Party and Congress; Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Uttarakhand Kranti Dal and independents will also contest the elections.

The political fight of the state was very unpredictable, considering the support BJP got during Lok Sabha Elections. BJP was trying to prove that the support they got in 2014 elections is still there. Congress has been in their low times since last couple of years. The party was running their campaign in full flow. Once the results of Uttarakhand elections came out in BJP's favour, it was clear that BJP is going to rule for another 5 years with such massive majority.

Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha Elections 2017

Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha elections were held in February and March. All the parties were ready for the political fight of 2017. Congress was the current government in the state before elections. Whereas BJP was crowned after the result declaration. The party was away from the CM office for some time. They were ready to turn the Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha election results 2017 in their favour. The past results suggests that parties has formed the government alternatively. Independents doesn’t score very high here. In 2012 elections, other parties and Independents formed alliance with Congress. This alliance allowed congress to form the government. The role of every seat is crucial in assembly elections, and no candidate can be ignored.

Important Issues in Uttarakhand

The main issues of the state includes migrations of residents, unemployment, bad condition of roads, limited job opportunity, and other infrastructure related issue. The state has seen a very large migration rate. Around 1100 village of this beautiful state are empty with no hope of residents coming back. The condition is not good in Garhwal region, where more than 650 villages have limited residents left. The main reason for such large amount of migration is the limited job opportunity. People have to migrate due the lack of basic employment. Other states in plain areas offers more opportunity. The employment rate is severe, around 7 lakh people have no job according to data shared by employment exchange bureaus. Among these people, around 90 percent are educated. These figures could be worse on the ground level.

Political Parties in Uttarakhand

Party Name
Indian National Congress (INC
Bharatiya Janata party (BJP)
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
Uttarakhand Kranti Dal

You would also Like to Know

Uttarakhand Election Opinion Polls
Uttarakhand Assembly Constituency Results
Uttarakhand Candidates List 2017
BJP Candidates List
INC Candidates List
BSP Candidates List

Last Updated on 29 July 2018