Live Updates:

Counting of votes started at 8 AM (15 April 2017). Result is shared here.

Sikkim - Upper burtuk
Result Declared
Scheduled Round:- 3, Entered Round:- 3
Total Electors:- 13591, Total Votes Polled:- 9427
Candidate Name Party NameVotes% of Votes Polled
D. R. THAPASikkim Democratic Front840689.17
SURESH KHANAL SHARMABharatiya Janata Party3743.97
SHEKHAR CHETTRIIndependent1681.78
NAWIN KIRAN PRADHANIndependent1481.57
SHANTI KUMAR BASNETTIndependent1061.12
SUMITRA RAIIndian National Congress981.04
WANG TASHI BHUTIAIndependent270.29
None of the AboveNone of the Above1001.06
Counting of votes started at 8 AM (15 April 2017). Early trends and results are shared here.

About Upper Burtuk Assembly Constituency

Upper Burtuk assembly constituency is among the 32 constituencies of Sikkim. Election in this assembly was coducted in 2017. These upcoming by poll will elect the MLA for the currently vacant seat.

Upper Burtuk Election Date 2017 - By Poll Elections

Upper Burtuk Assembly Constituency By poll elections are scheduled during current month. The elctions will be held on 12 April, 2017. Upper Burtuk Vidhan Sabha by poll result will be shared on 15 April 2017 after the completion of vote counting. Upper Burtuk assembly seat is currently vacant and these by poll elections will elect MLA on this seat, until 2019. BJP and Congress has alread shared their candidate names for this seat.

Poll EventsElection Schedule
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification16.03.2017 (Thursday)
Last Date of Nomination23.03.2017 (Thursday)
Date of Scrutiny of Nomination24.03.2017 (Friday)
Last Date of Withdrawal of Candidatures27.03.2017 (Monday)
Date of Poll (Voting)12.04.2017 (Wednesday)
Date of Counting - Results Date15.04.2017 (Saturday)
Date Before which Election Shall be Completed17.04.2017 (Monday)

Candidates List for Upper Burtuk By Poll 2017

Candidates NameParty Name
Suresh Khanal SharmaBJP
Sumitra RaiINC
Nawin Kiran PradhanIND
Shanti Kumar BasnettIND
Shekhar ChettriIND
Wang Tashi BhutiaIND
Dilli Ram ThapaSDF

Upper Burtuk Assembly Constituency Results: List of Current and Previous MLAs

YearAC. NoAC. NameWinnerPartyVotesRunner-UPPartyVotes
201428Upper BurtukPrem Singh TamangSKM5272D. R. ThapaSDF4699
200928Upper BurtukPrem SinghtamangSDF5908Arun Kumar RaiINC1345

Last Updated on 15 April 2017