Karnataka is a southern state of India. Karnataka has 28 Lok Sabha (Parliamentary) seats and 224 Assembly seats (Vidhan Sabha). The current tenure of the Karnataka Vidhan Sabha is valid from 29 May 2013 to 28 May 2018. Therefore, current tenure (Fourteenth Assembly) is valid till 28/05/2018. Elections will be scheduled in 2018 for the selection of the new government by the people of Karnataka.

Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013

Last elections were held in 2013 and polling date was 5 May 2013. The results were declared on 8 May 2013. Total 224 seats are present in the Karnataka legislative assembly and 113 seats are required to win the elections of Karnataka. In 2013 elections, Indian National Congress won the elections comfortably and they managed to win 122 seats.

Check Karnataka Assembly Constituency Wise Results

About Karnataka Assembly

Total 224 assembly seats are present in the state and 113 seats are required to win and form the government in the state. These 224 assembly seats are falling under 28 Lok Sabha seats. Currently Indian National Congress is ruling in the state and Siddaramaiah is the elected chief minister of the state. This time Bharatiya Janata Party will try to win 2018 Karnataka elections.

Main Political Parties of Karnataka

Main political parties of Karnataka are Indian National Congress (INC), Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), B. Sriramulu's Badavara Shramikara Raitara Congress Party (BSRCP) and B. S. Yeddyurappa's Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP).

Related Election Updates
Karnataka Assembly Constituencies
Karnataka Opinion Poll 2018
Gujarat Elections 2017
Himachal Elections 2017

Last Updated on 20 February 2018