Gujarat Rajya Sabha Elections are happening after a gap of 20 years. This time 4 contestants are trying their luck for 3 seats of Rajya Sabha. Congress Ahmed Patel is contesting Rajya Sabha polls to win this election for the fifth time in a row. However, the BJP has fielded former Congress leader Balwantsinh Rajput against him. Apart from Ahmed Patel and Balwantsinh Rajput BJP Chief Amit Shah, Union Minister Smriti Irani is also contesting the Rajya Sabha Polls.

Gujarat Rajya Sabha Elections 2017 Results with Candidates Votes

Congress Ahmed Patel won the Rajya Sabha seat of Gujarat along with BJP chief Amit Shah and Union Minister Smriti Irani. Two rebellion Congress MLA votes were declared by the Election Commission, therefore, each candidate required 44 votes to win the Rajya Sabha Seat. Congress Ahmed Patel Managed to get exactly 44 votes and his opponent Balwantsinh Rajput got 38 votes only. The BJP Chief Amit Shah and Union minister Smriti Irani got the support of 46 members.

Name Of CandidatesPartyVotesStatus
Ahmed PatelCongress44Winner
Amit ShahBJP46Winner
Smriti IraniBJP46Winner
Balwantsinh RajputBJP (Ex Congress Leader)38Lose against Ahmed Patel

Gujarat Rajya Sabha Elections 2017 Candidates

Name of CandidatesParty
Ahmed PatelCongress
Balwantsinh RajputBJP (Ex Congress Leader)
Amit ShahBJP
Smriti IraniBJP

Bharatiya Janata Party Chief Amit Shah and Union Minister Smriti Irani are confident to win Rajya Sabha Elections of Gujarat. BJP has a majority in Gujarat assembly as well as in Lok Sabha. This term will be the debut term for the BJP Chief Amit Shah and Information and Broadcasting and Textiles Minister Smriti is contesting for a second term.

Former Congress leader Balwantsinh Rajput has made this Rajya Sabha elections tough for Congress Ahmed Patel. BJP has fielded Balwantsinh Rajput against the Ahmed Patel, four time member of the upper house of the Parliament. However, Ahmed Patel is confident of his fifth time consecutive win.

Gujarat Rajya Sabha Elections Schedule 2017

Rajya Sabha Polling Schedule (Upper House of Parliament)Date and Time
Time of Polling Starts8 August 2017, 9 AM
Time of Voting Ends8 August 2017, 4 PM
Counting of Votes8 August 2017, 5 PM
Results (Expected)8 August 2017, 6 PM

Voting for Rajya Sabha elections will start at 9 in the morning and will continue till 4 in the evening on 8 August 2017. Counting of votes will start 5 in the evening on the same day. Results for Gujarat Rajya Sabha Elections 2017 is expected to announce at 6 PM on the same day (08 August 2017).

Votes Required to Win Rajya Sabha Elections

The Gujarat legislative assembly has total 182 seats, out of 182 MLAs, 121 vidhayak are from the BJP and 57 are from the Indian National Congress. Recently 6 Members of Congress resigned the grand old party, therefore, the Congress MLA total number came down to 51. Now the Gujarat assembly has total 176 members. After the recent political scenario, Congress has moved out their remaining MLA to a resort in Bangalore. However, only 44 MLA moved to Bangalore and seven members denied to shift to Bengaluru. Now total 44 members were shifted to Bengaluru.

Now total 176 eligible members are in the assembly and total 4 candidates are standing in the elections. As per the Rajya Sabha elections, votes required to win the elections are total number of candidates divided by the number of member votes + 1 vote is required to secure the win ((176/4)+1 =45). As per the current scenario at least 45 votes are required to win the Rajya Sabha elections. Congress has full support of 44 members till now and Ahmed Patel needs at least 45 votes to secure his consecutive fifth win. We are covering the live updates of the Gujarat Rajya Elections 2017 and results will be updated here.

Also Check
Gujarat Opinion Poll
List of MLA in Gujarat – 2012 Assembly Election Results
Gujarat Assembly Constituencies

Last updated on 29 July 2018