Last term of Goa Assembly was valid till 18.03.2017. The 2017 elections were held on 04 February in the state. The elections result was announced on 11 March, 2017. Election Commission declared the notification in January 2017 for elections. Total five states of India saw elections in first quarter of 2017. Other four states were Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Punjab and Uttarakhand. The current CM is Manohar Parrikar, who belongs to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Goa Party Wise Results

Bharatiya Janata Party13
Indian National Congress17
Nationalist Congress Party1
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak3
Goa Forward Party3

As there are a small number of constituencies in the state, voting was carried out in single phase. The Goa election results was declared on 11 March. Counting of votes was carried out on the same day. Main parties contesting in these elections were BJP, Congress, AAP, Goa Vikas Party (GVP) and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP).

Goa is the smallest state of India and it has 40 legislative assembly seats. Legislator's Day is celebrated in Goa every year on 9th January. In 2012 elections, results of Goa elections came in the favour of BJP and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak alliance. The alliance managed to win with a good margin. Manohar Parrikar was appointed as new Chief Minister of the state. He was again appointed as Chief Minister of state, after 2017 elections

Goa Election Updates

Voting in Goa finished on 04 February 2017. In Margao constituency, re-polling was conducted on 7th February. Overall voter turnout was very impressive this year, with 83% people coming out of their houses to cast their votes. In North Goa, 84% voter turnout was recorded by election commission of India. South Goa recorded less voting percentage, 81.5%. These figures are very pleasant, and shows that voters of Goa are very aware.

Political Facts about Goa

Goa Political Facts 
Parlimentary Constituencies2
Assembly Constituencies40
Rajya Sabha Seat1
Ruling PartyBhartiya Janta Party (BJP)
Opposition PartyIndian National Congress (INC)
Current Chief MinisterLaxmikant Parsekar, BJP
Leader of the HouseLaxmikant Parsekar, BJP
Leader of OppositionPratapsingh Rane, INC
Current Term of Goa Assembly19 March 2012 to 18 March 2017
GovernorMridula Sinha
Chief Electoral OfficerN.S Navti

Goa Assembly is Unicameral assembly. It has 2 parliamentary constituencies (Lok Sabha Seats) and 40 assembly constituencies (Vidhan Sabha Seats). It has 1 Rajya Sabha seat also.BJP won the 2012 elections with majority in alliance with Maharashtrawadi Gomantak. BJP replaced the incumbent Congress party after 2012 elections. After 2017 elections, party stayed in power for another 5 years.

Read: Goa Opinion Poll

Goa Assembly Elections 2012 Details

The Goa assembly elections were held on 3 March, 2012. The results were announced 3 days later, on 6th March. People of Goa selected Manohar Parrikar as their new Chief Minister. In the opposition, Congress was led by Digambar Kamat. BJP contested the elections in alliance with Maharashtrawadi Gomantak. BJP won 21 seats and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak party managed to win 3 seats. Congress failed to score high and had to satisfy itself with 9 seats. The 2012 assembly elections saw change of government.

Issues of the state

Elections are fought on main issues of a state, parties tries to convince people while focussing on these issues. Goa is also facing a number of such challenges which are affecting growth and development of the state. One main concern is the number of increasing migrants coming from southern and other parts of the country. People from various states like Karnataka, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar etc are inhabiting the state. As a result, population has swollen making Goan people’s life difficult. Goa attracts a lot of visitors for across the globe. The state has party and Casio culture which attracts Illegal drug traders. Illegal Drug is another main issue of the state.All the parties will focus on addressing these issues and thus attracting voters.

You may also Like to Know

Goa Assembly Constituency Results
Goa Candidates List 2017
BJP Candidates List
INC Candidates List
AAP Candidates List

Political Parties in Goa

Party Name
Bharatiya Janata Party
Indian National congress
Goa Vikas Party (GVP)
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP)
Aam Aadmi Party (First Election)

Last Updated on 29 July 2018