Upcoming Election

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019 is scheduled this year.

Elections Results

Punjab Election Results 2017
Uttar Pradesh Election Results 2017

India is the largest democracy in the world with a population of around 1.3 billion people. India is most populous country after China and seventh in term of land area. Various elections are held in India every 5 years like parliamentary elections, Presidential elections, assembly elections, civic body elections, Union elections, local body elections, etc. Elections are held to elect people on many important designation, on the basis of people's verdict.

Parliamentary Elections in India

Most important elections are parliamentary elections, which are held every 5 years. Total 543 parliamentary constituencies are present in India and at least 50% are required to form the government. Minimum 272 seats are required by a party or alliance to form the central government in India. In last Lok Sabha elections, which were held in 2014, BJP won the elections with the majority. INC and BJP have been the main political party, which have been competing to form central government by winning these elections. Before 2014 elections, INC ruled for two consecutive term in the county. Prime Minister of India is also chosen by the winning party.

Assembly elections in India

State assembly elections also held every 5 years and known as Vidhan Sabha Chunav in Hindi. India has 29 States 7 Union territories. At least 50% of seats are required to win by a party or alliance to form the Government in state or union territory.

Elections in 2017

Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017

Quick Facts - Uttar Pradesh 
Assembly Seats403
Seats Required to form Government202
Ruling PartySamajwadi Party (SP)
Chief MinisterAkhilesh Yadav

Know more: Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017

You may also check: Assembly Constituencies and Uttar Pradesh Opinion Poll.

Punjab Elections 2017
Quick Facts - Punjab 
Assembly Seats117
Seats Required to form Government59
Ruling PartyShiromani Akali Dal
Chief MinisterParkash Singh Badal

Know more: Punjab Elections 2017

You may also check: Assembly Constituencies and Punjab Opinion Poll.