Elections for Manipur Legislative assembly will be held in the beginning of 2017 to elect 60 members. Current term will expire on 18 March 2017 and formation of new government should be completed before 18-3-2017. In The 2012 elections, results were in favour of Congress. In 2012 elections congress won majority of seats and BJP and other parties had to find Contentment with small number of seats. The 2017 elections will be conducted in two phases, and Manipur elections results will be declared on 11 March 2017.

Election Commission of India has declared notification regarding election dates. Voting in Manipur will be done on 04 March and 08 March. Manipur has 60 assembly seats, elections will happen to find suitable MLAs on these seats. Various political parties has already announced their candidates for the upcoming elections. The main political parties of the state are Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Trinamool Congress (TMC), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Manipur Election 2017 Date

ECI has declared the nomination with important dates related to Manipur elections. The elections are scheduled to be held in two phases. The number of assembly constituencies are 60. Voting date for first phase is 04 March and it is 08 March for second phase. Manipur election results will be declared on 11 March 2017. These dates are very important for all political parties and voters of Manipur. Voting on remaininig 4 states are underway, and their results will be declared along with Manipr election results 2017.

Poll EventPhase-1 (38 ACs)Phase-2 (22 ACs)
Date of Notification07.02.2017 (TUE)09.02.2017 (THU)
Date of Making Nomination14.02.2017 (TUE)16.02.2017 (THU)
Scrutiny of Nominations16.02.2017 (THU)17.02.2017 (FRI)
Withdrawal of Candidature18.02.2017 (SAT)20.02.2017 (MON)
Date of Poll04.03.2017 (SAT)08.03.2017 (WED)
Date of Counting11.03.2017 (SAT)11.03.2017 (SAT)
Date of Completion15.03.2017 (WED)15.03.2017 (WED)

Political Scenario of Manipur Election 2017

In 2012 elections, Congress scored win with majority ny winning 42 seats. Election results of Manipur has been in favour of INC most of the times, in past. Congress is enjoying its third consecutive term here. Okram Ibobi Singh has been sitting in CM office since 2002.

Bhartiya Janata Party is looking to find an opportunity to govern the state in upcoming elections. Party has seen very positive results in recent years in country’s politics. BJP won Parliamentary elections in 2014 with a good margin. Party secured win in another northeastern state, Assam. Assam was being ruled by Congress for three consecutive terms, just like Manipur. BJP Broke the feat of congress and came out as winners there. BJP has performed very well in municipal elections last year too. Bhartiya Janata Party has put all of their efforts here, to rule this state and strengthen the party in northeastern region of the country. BJP has all the right to eye this state, considering their recent performances.

Another important party is formed recently in the state. Irom Sharmila has formed the party Peoples Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA). She has been protesting against AFSPA (Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act). She left food for more than 500 weeks, while protesting for civil rights. She is a civil rights activist, poet and and now a politician. DUe to her hunger strike, she is called as Iron Lady or Mengoubi in the state. She emerged as the role model for the women across the country. After being in 16 years long fasting, she ended it to join politics and formed the Peoples’ Resurgence and Justice Alliance Party. The party will also be contesting in elections, making it interesting one.

The upcoming elections will be very tough and unpredictable for all the political parties. Congress and BJP are the biggest and politically acclaimed parties. These are national parties and heavyweight of the politics. Irom Sharmila’s PRJA is new entry in politics, however she might get surprising support of public, being a civil activist. Other parties like Trinamool Congress TMC, RJD and NCP will also be trying their luck in the Manipur election results 2017.

Political Facts about Manipur

Manipur Political Facts 
Parlimentary Constituencies2
Assembly Constituencies60
Rajya Sabha Seat1
Ruling PartyIndian National Congress (INC)
Opposition PartyTrinamool Congress
Current Chief MinisterOkram Ibobi Singh, INC
Current Term of Manipur Assembly19 March 2012 to 18 March 2017
GovernorDr. Najma A. Heptulla
Chief Electoral OfficerOinam Nabakishore Singh

Manipur assembly type is Unicameral. It has 2 parliamentary constituencies (Lok Sabha Seats) and 60 assembly constituencies (Vidhan Sabha Seats). Manipur has 1 Rajya Sabha seat. Congress party is currently holding the government office. Okram Ibobi Singh is the current Chief Minister. The 2012 Manipur elections results appointed him as CM of the state again. Congress has been ruling the state since very long time and this is their third consecutive term here. Trinamool Congress (TMC) is the official opposition party.

Manipur Opinion Polls Summary

As per now few news agencies has already conducted opinion polls. One such opinion poll is conducted by India-Axis. This opinion poll predicts that BJP will win with majority. The seat tally of BJP is expected to be 31-35. Whereas ruling party congress is guessed to win 19-24 seats. Another opinion poll is conducted by India TV-CVoter, Congress is leading with 19-23 seats. BJP is anticipated to win 2-5 seats. The survey are showing mixed results and none of the party is guessed as clear winner. These surveys and polls are conducted to get an idea about the mood of voters of the state. The outcome of the polls can be seen below in the table:

Survey AgencyDateBJPINCNPFOthers
India Today- My Axis10/13/1631-3519-2403-0502-04
Read: Manipur Opinion Poll

Political Parties in Manipur

Main Regional Political PartiesMajor Parties
Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party Indian National congress
Manipur State Congress partyBharatiya Janata Party
Lok Jan Shakti PartyCommunist Party of India
All India Trinamool CongressRashtriya Janata Dal
Manipur People's Party (MPP)Nationalist Congress Party
Federal Party of Manipur 
Manipur National Conference 
Naga People's Front 
National People's Party (India) 
Nikhil Manipuri Mahasabha

You may also Like to Know

Manipur Assembly Constituencies
Manipur Opinion Poll
Manipur Candidate List 2017
INC Candidates List
BJP Candidates List
NCP Candidates List

Last Updated on 19 February 2017

Manipur State Location Google Map