Himachal Pradesh assembly constituency formed on 25th January 1971. Total 12 districts are present in the HP state. The total population of the state is 68,56,509 as per 2011 census. Shimla is the state capital of Himachal Pradesh. Elections for legislative assembly are due in 2017. Current term of the Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha is from 8 January 2013 to 7 January 2018. The current term is valid till 7 January 2018, therefore elections will be held this year for electing chief minister and MLA for the state.

Himachal Pradesh Election Date 2017

Election Date AnnouncementDate Of PollHP Election Result Date
September-OctoberNovember (Expected)December (Expected as per last elections)

The duration of this term is from 8 January 2013 to 7 January 2018 and elections for vidhan Sabha will be held this year. Last elections were held on 4 November 2012 and this year elections are also expected in the month of November. Himachal Pradesh Elections Date will be shared here after the official notification regarding the polling schedule.

Check Himachal Assembly Constituency Wise Results

About Himachal Pradesh Assembly

Total 68 assembly seats are present in the state and 35 seats are required to win and form the government in the state. These 68 assembly seats are falls under 4 Lok Sabha seats. Currently Indian National Congress is ruling in the state and Virbhadra Singh is the elected chief minister of the state. Bharatiya Janata Party is the main opposition party of the state. Congress won 2012 elections by defeating BJP.

Issues of the state

Main issues of the elections are corruption, unemployment, inflation, law and order, economic slowdown. Etc. Generally the issues of the this state are also same as other states.

Political Parties of Himachal Pradesh

Main political parties of Himachal pradesh are Bharatiya Janata Party and Indian National Congress.

Related Election Updates
Himachal Pradesh Assembly Constituencies
Gujarat Elections 2017

Last Updated on 30 July 2017